African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA)

Imo and Abia State Govts to partner on Agric project
July 17, 2019
Stakeholders commend Chevron at TB National Conference
July 19, 2019


The African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA) is a trade agreement which is in force between 27 African Union member states. It was signed in Kigali, Rwanda, on 21 March 2018.


Editor’s Pick

Unemployment and Underemployment in Nigeria (Q3 2018)

The 2018 Global Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI)

Africa SDG Index and Dashboard Report 2018

2018 SOCIAL PROGRESS INDEX Methodology Summary

The Global Competitiveness Report 2018


As of July 2019, 54 of the 55 African Union states had signed the agreement, with Eritrea the only country not signing the agreement. Of these member states, 27 have deposited their instrument of ratification. The 27 countries that have deposited their instruments of AfCFTA ratification with the AUC Chairperson are; Ghana, Kenya, Rwanda, Niger, Chad, Congo Republic, Djibouti, Guinea, Eswatini, Mali, Mauritania, Namibia, South Africa, Uganda, Ivory Coast (Côte d’Ivoire), Senegal, Togo, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Sierra Leone, Saharawi Republic, Zimbabwe, Burkina Faso, São Tomé and Príncipe, Gabon, and Equatorial Guinea.


Download Agreement below



Comments are closed.