IFAD commends Edo Fish farmers

Aftermath of the Presidential Amnesty Program
May 15, 2015
May 2015 Member Spotlight: Mrs. Ime Ebiware
May 19, 2015

The achievements of the fish farmers in Avbiebo, Edo state have been commended by the joint International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), Federal Government and Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

The commendation came during the 17th Supervision Mission to Edo. The mission leader, Rab Nawaz, gave the commendation when the team inspected about 50 fish cluster ponds on Friday in Avbiebo.

Nawaz said he was particularly impressed at the way the agricultural potentials of the community were being harnessed by the farmers.

In his words, “I am optimistic that after the closure of the programme in September, the farmers will be able to sustain the project,” he said.

The team leader urged the farmers to sustain the project, saying the intervention was to improve the lives of the poor in rural areas.

According to him, Nigeria is the only country in the world with 80 percent cultivable land.

The spokesman for the fish farmers, Mr Testman Igbinoviathanked the team for the opportunity offered the community through IFAD intervention.

Igbinovia said the intervention had provided opportunities for employment and income generation in Avbiebo, Uhunwode Local Government Area of Edo.

“This project has attracted various interest groups and investors to the community.

“ Students of various institutions of learning and some military men from Jaji visited the pond site,” he said.

The National Coordinator of IFAD, Mrs Irene Jumbo-Ibeakuzie, who also commended the fish farmers, particularly women and youths, urged them to sustain the projects.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the programme is being implemented in the nine Niger Delta states of Edo, Delta, Bayelsa, Cross River, Imo, Abia, Akwa Ibom, Ondo and Rivers.

NAN also reports that the programme is being implemented in nine local government areas of Edo.

They are Esan North East, Uhunmwode, Orihionmwon, Igueben, Esan South East, Esan West, Akoko- Edo, Owan West and Etsako Central.

Source: The Guardian 

Leave a Reply